Log in

Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Award

2021 Applications are CLOSED!

Grant W. Farmer was a gifted and committed public health researcher, teacher, community member, friend, and mentor.  He was a long time Caucus member, and served the caucus as Chair from 2012-2014, and as well as other executive committee roles.

Click here to read Grant's Obituary

Established in 2015, The Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship is an annual competitive award to support deserving undergraduate or graduate students to attend the American Public Health Association (APHA) Annual Meeting and LGBTQ Health Caucus Scientific Sessions. The award consists of an honorarium to support registration fees and costs associated with attending.

Grant W. Farmer believed that the APHA Annual Meeting was a unique place for LGBTQ and Two-Spirit students committed to public health research and practice to receive quality mentoring and exposure to innovative LGBTQ public health research and to build critical social support that may be unavailable at their home institutions.

Scholarship Details:

      A stipend is given for use to defray costs associated with attending the annual meeting (typically enough to cover registration but contingent on funding). For 2021, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recognize this may not include attending the annual meeting in person but may include paying registration to attend the conference virtually.

      Membership in the LGBTQ Health Caucus is not required to apply, but upon selection, awardees are asked to join the Caucus at the $10 student membership level.

      Candidates for the award must submit a completed application. The Caucus will not consider incomplete submissions.

      Applications are reviewed by a minimum of three reviewers who are Caucus members, at least one of whom is a current sitting member of the Caucus executive committee.

      Reviewers have 2-3 weeks after the close of application submissions to complete their review.

      Previous Farmer award recipients are ineligible for consideration, as are postdocs who have completed their education, or applicants who have a terminal degree and are candidates for additional supplementary programs (e.g., someone with an MD or Ph.D. obtaining an MPH)

      The awardee will be notified of their award and asked for permission to include their name on the Caucus website, be promoted via the Caucus newsletter, and be presented with a certificate in person or virtually, at the Caucus business meeting during the APHA Annual Meeting.

      Awardees will coordinate with the Caucus treasurer to receive their scholarship by check or electronic payment.


Application Criteria:

Due Date: Midnight Eastern Time, Friday, September 10th, 2021, submitted to pastchair@aphalgbtq.org

To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must submit the following three documents:

      Current curriculum vitae or résumé

      A statement that describes the role of LGBTQ and/or Two-Spirit health in their personal and professional aspirations (no more than 2 double-spaced pages, please proofread)

      Statements that describe their goals and objectives for APHA attendance, and whether you are planning to attend in-person or the parts that are accessible through remote registration and virtual access (no more than 2 double-spaced pages, please proofread)

      Please combine all documents into one (1) file, Word or PDF, and name the file using the following convention: LastName_FirstInitial_Farmer2021

      Please use “Farmer Scholarship” in the email subject line for your application and submit it to pastchair@aphalgbtq.org

To be competitive, applicants must meet the following minimum criteria:

      Demonstrate aspirations for a career in LGBTQ and/or Two-Spirit public health research or practice

      Be a student and actively enrolled in either an undergraduate or graduate program during the semester the APHA Annual Meeting occurs (postdocs are not eligible)

      Be willing and able to attend the annual APHA Annual Meeting and, potentially the LGBTQ Health Caucus Business Meeting (TBD)

      Be willing to become an LGBTQ Health Caucus member if an award is made ($10 student membership)

Applicants will receive confirmation that their application was received and when reviews are completed. Awards given each year are contingent on available funds. Awardees will be announced on the LGBTQ Health Caucus website and via the Caucus newsletter with permission. Under non-pandemic circumstances, awardees will also be acknowledged at the Caucus Social Hour and Business Meeting and presented with a certificate during the APHA Annual Meeting. Funded applicants will be notified in early October.

Please send any questions, inquiries, and applications directly to the LGBTQ Health Caucus Immediate Past Chair, Christina Dragon, at: pastchair@aphalgbtq.org. Please include “Farmer Scholarship” in the Subject Line. Also see: www.aphalgbtq.org/awards

The 2021 APHA Annual Meeting is in Denver, CO from October 24-28, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the current plan is for a hybrid annual meeting. Learn about COVID-19 updates to the Annual Meeting.


The Caucus established the Walter J. Lear Outstanding Student Research Award to recognize exceptional work by students on LGBT-related issues. The award consists of a stipend and free caucus membership. All students who submit an abstract to the Caucus for consideration for the annual meeting are eligible for this award.

Walter J. Lear was one of the founders and a longtime chair of the Caucus. He founded the Caucus in 1975 and worked with APHA to inform them of our health issues and the need for research. Click here to read Walter's Obituary

Thanks to Carmine Novembre of Pfizer for support of the Walter Lear Student Award. Pfizer logo

Lear Award Recipient 

Shahmir Ali is a PhD student at the NYU School of Global Public Health. His research interests center around interpersonal and community level factors involved in the lifestyle behaviors of young and second-generation Asian Americans, and how these factors can be integrated into innovative intervention designs to address non-communicable disease disparities. Congratulations on your outstanding research, Shahmir!

See Past Awards for more of our Lear Award winners!

About the Caucus

Since its founding in 1975, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) Caucus has been an association of public health professionals committed to furthering LGBTQ issues within the American Public Health Association (APHA) and the field of public health at large. For more information about the LGBTQ Health Caucus, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.


Heather Tillewein, Communications Chair


Copyright © LGBTQ Health Caucus
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software