Log in

Distinguished Lifetime Membership

Distinguished Lifetime Membership is conferred as a recognition on those leaders who have devoted their time, knowledge and abilities to the advancement of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer public health.#@#_WA_-_CURSOR_-_POINT_#@#



José Ramón Fernández-Peña, MD, MPA

President, American Public Health Association

Lisa Carlson, MPH

President, American Public Health Association


Dan Mertens


Walter Lear, MD

Founder, LGBTQ Health Caucus (formerly the LGBT Caucus of Public Health Professionals)

Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Award

2017 APHA Annual Meeting in Atlanta

Musarrat Rahman, MPH, was the Grant W. Farmer Memorial Scholarship Awardee! Musarrat shared her work from her master's thesis in a poster session titled,  "Watching your back: How much do people at increased risk actually know about human papillomavirus (HPV) and its association with anal cancer?" We look forward to more promising intersectional LGBTQ public health work from Musarrat!

2016 APHA Annual Meeting in Denver

First, Joanne Patterson, hailing from a Ph.D. program at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, won our selection committees hearts with a compelling application. Joanne has worked tirelessly to bring LGBTQ inclusion into her work at multiple levels throughout her career and educational endeavors. Joanne exemplified the deep commitment to improving the lives of our community members through public health, advocacy, and education that were the values we wished to honor about our friend, colleague, and past LGBT Caucus Chair, Grant.

Second, we honored Alvin Tran, a Doctor of Science student from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of public health, whose work both prior to graduate school and during is indicative of a strong commitment to the LGBTQ community and improving our community’s health.

And last, but not least, DaRel Barksdale, a DrPh candidate at the Milken Institute School of Public Health at George Washington University. DaRel came to public health through volunteer services, and seeks to use his education fro furthering community involvement in LGBTQ health, with a specific emphasis on the cultural aspects of communicating public health interventions with MSMs and MSMs of color.

We would like to congratulate these three awardees for their efforts on the Scholarship application, and also their commitment and dedication to LGBTQ public health.

Walter J. Lear Outstanding Student Research Award

The Caucus established the Walter J. Lear Outstanding Student Research Award to recognize exceptional work by students on LGBT-related issues. The award consists of a stipend and free caucus membership. All students who submit an abstract to the Caucus for consideration for the annual meeting are eligible for this award.

Walter J. Lear was one of the founders and a longtime chair of the Caucus. He founded the Caucus in 1975 and worked with APHA to inform them of our health issues and the need for research. Click here to read Walter's Obituary

Thanks to Carmine Novembre of Pfizer for support of the Walter Lear Student Award. Pfizer logo

Year  Winner Presentation Title
2016 Amaya Perez-Brumer We don't treat your kind”: Social determinants of HIV prevention and care in the context of competing health needs among transgender people in Jackson, Mississippi
2015 Alex Maher McDowell, MPH, MSN, RN Transgender health for future nurses: Students' knowledge and beliefs before and after transgender curriculum integration
2014 Gilbert Gonzales, MHA Disparities in Health Insurance at the Intersection of Race and Sexual Orientation
2013 Janelle Downing, MS Socio-economic determinants of unmet need for gender-confirming healthcare
2012 Sari Reisner, MA Sexual orientation disparities in substance abuse in a sample of patients engaged in care at an urban community health center: The mediating roles of childhood abuse and intimate partner violence
2011 Aleksandar Kecojevic, MPH Non-Medical Use of Prescription Drugs Among High-risk LGBT Youth
2010 Laura Nasuti Sexual orientation and suicide attempts: Results from the California Quality of Life Survey II
2009 Mark Hatzenbuehler, MS, MPhil State-level discrimination policies: Environmental risk factors for psychiatric morbidity in LGB populations
2008 John R. Blosnich, BA, MPH Violence by any other name: Using population-based data to explore intimate partner violence (IPV) among same-sex relationships in the United States
2007 Annesa Flentje Santa, MA Reflections on policy and practices: LGBT veterans' experiences while in the military
2006 Allegra Raboff Gordon, MPH Gender nonconformity as a target of prejudice, discrimination, and violence against LGB individuals
2005 Anthony DiStefano, PhD, MPH Violence and Self-Harm Among LGBT People in Japan
2004 Amari Pearson-Fields, MPH Diversity within Diversity: Understanding the Impact of Gender Identity on Cancer Screening Adherence among African American Lesbians
2003 Diane S. Tider, BA, MPH Knowledge of HPV and effects on sexual behavior of gay/bisexual men

About the Caucus

Since its founding in 1975, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) Caucus has been an association of public health professionals committed to furthering LGBTQ issues within the American Public Health Association (APHA) and the field of public health at large. For more information about the LGBTQ Health Caucus, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.


Heather Tillewein, Communications Chair


Copyright © LGBTQ Health Caucus
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software